

June 27, 2008

Dear Family,

We received an email from the Council on Accreditation (COA) on June 25, 2008 stating that Adoptions from the Heart (AFTH) was denied accreditation under the Hague convention. COA indicated without any explanation whatsoever, that AFTH was not in substantial compliance with the Hague Regulations. COA's denial letter did not contain any reasons for this decision, which is a clear violation of COA's own Policies and Procedures. In earlier communications, COA raised several issues, which AFTH completely addressed, explained, and/or refuted. AFTH is certain that it meets or exceeds ALL of the Hague standards and should be eligible for accreditation. However, because of COA's actions and to protect our families, AFTH will be seeking a reconsideration of COA's decision as is provided for under its rules. If this is not successful, AFTH will explore and pursue any and all available remedies to ensure that AFTH and its families receive the consideration and due process we believe have been denied so far by COA.

Currently this will not impact the majority of pending cases however, in the future should this effect your individual case you will be contacted immediately. AFTH will continue to evaluate any possible repercussions and try to prevent any negative consequences as a result of these events.

We continue to request our families to write letters to their Senators, members of Congress, the Department of State, and to COA (see attached list for addresses and fax numbers) supporting AFTH and advocating our approval for accreditation, our thanks to those families who have done so already on our behalf. We appreciate your ongoing patience and support.

Sincerely,

Maxine Chalker, MSW/LSW Executive Director



1) Council on Accreditation 120 Wall St. 11th Floor New York, NY 10005 212.797.3000 212.737.1428 - Fax

Jennifer Flowers – Director of Accreditation Commission (jflowers@coanet.org)

- 2) You can find your Senators' phone numbers and email address at www.senate.gov
- 3) You can find your Representatives' phone numbers and email address at www.house.gov
- 4) Department of State Ana Mary Coburn (202) 544-8501 Fax

Anna Mary Coburn (coburnA@state.gov)
Katherine E. Monahan – (monahanke@state.gov)
Julie Furuta-Toy (furuta-toyJ@state.gov)
Miki Stebbing, Accrediting Entity Liason (stebbingmd@state.gov)